VÆGTLØS - Aftryk
€8.00 - €24.00

  • VÆGTLØS - Aftryk
  • VÆGTLØS - Aftryk
  • VÆGTLØS - Aftryk
  • VÆGTLØS - Aftryk
  • VÆGTLØS - Aftryk

VÆGTLØS - Aftryk
€8.00 - €24.00

GNGR131 // released February 2, 2024

Members: Jeppe: bass, Frederik: guitar, Tobias: drums, Troels: vocals


What do you do when one of your best friends gets diagnosed with cancer? How do you handle losing someone close to you?

Vægtløs are trying to wade into questions like these on this album, which solely includes songs about people close to the band who died or suffered deadly diseases. Vægtløs focuses on vulnerability and openness that are lacking in the music scene, but also in society, in general. Life is fleeting and fragile, and Vægtløs is a bridge to the gap between the monumental emotional dread underlying the fact that all beauty will eventually die and the cathartic strength found in music.

Vægtløs are scene veterans coming together for their love of everything emotionally heavy, passionate, honest, and sincere. The band is not afraid to wear their heart on their sleeves and paint a scenery of the remote and primitive Nordic landscape that is both silent and loud.

In these immensely bleak times, the need for melancholic and desolate music has never been greater. Vægtløs pours every last bit of passion into their aggressive yet emotional music which can be described as intense and atmospheric post-metal with hints of black metal, post-rock, post-hardcore, and emo, even though it is not a distinct variation of either of those, but a mutated multifaceted modification of the sum. Musically the band never took any notice of trends and genres, as the band draws inspiration equally from life as from art and music.

About the album

The album is a culmination of several years of work that was hindered in growing by a pandemic and the constant setbacks of life. The record is a melodic and vast sound that is forged to enclose the personal Danish lyrics about people close to the band who died or suffered deadly diseases. The inspiration to do so has been found in watching and experiencing the unadulterated beauty of life and death.

Originally each song was named after the person that the band sang about, but that was changed to more fitting titles, as the protagonist of the song (singer Troels’ sister-in-law) suddenly died. The song was intended to be a "let's beat this cancer together" rally call, but ended more tragically.

The record was written and recorded in their studio, and mixed and mastered by producer Jacob Bredahl, who understood the direction the band wanted to go.

Running Time: 38:03
All songs by Vægtløs
Artwork by Peter Drastrup
Recorded by Vægtløs and Rasmus Glassau Clausen
Mixed and mastered by Jacob Bredahl
Backing vocals on track 3 by Christian Bonnesen and Victor Kaas
Poem on track 1 read by Thomas Burø
Poem on track 2 read by Tanja Gade Hammerholt
Backing vocals by Jan Fenger, Niels Højgaard Sørensen, Christian Holmsberg, Lasse Olsen.

About the band
After playing their first show in June 2022 things started to take off for Vægtløs. Under a month after their first show, they were asked to play support for shoegaze legends Nothing, and word about the band started to spread. It resulted in a few interviews and features from different magazines worldwide. And when their first single dropped, it got more than 2000 streams in one month on YouTube.

Kakofoni was the first 7" that Vægtløs released on the 4th of November (it was released on 18 different record labels on 7” and MC) and it is already in its third pressing, and it quickly saw positive reviews coming in; culminating in the band playing a show in Copenhagen in the freetown of Christiania at one of the most legendary venues in the country, Loppen, and being asked to support one of the biggest metal bands in Denmark, Møl, on their tour.

Vægtløs also played a sold-out show in their home town Aalborg; underneath the most significant bridge in the city center next to the fjord dividing the city in two.

All songs by Vægtløs.
Artwork by Jon Gotlev (No Heroes).
Recorded by Vægtløs and Rasmus Glassau Clausen.
Mixed and mastered by Jacob Bredahl.
Backing vocals on track 3 by Christian Bonnesen and Victor Kaas.
Poem on track 1 read by Thomas Burø.
Poem on track 2 read by Tanja Gade Hammerholt.
Backing vocals by Jan Fenger, Niels Højgaard Sørensen, Christian. Holmsberg, Lasse Olsen.

The record is co-released by all these labels:

Abekeit, Angry Music Records, DIY Autoestima, Coups de Couteau label, Deadred Queen Records, Deadlamb Records, Dingleberry records and Distribution, D.I.Y Koło Records, Fiadh Productions, Flames Don't Judge Records, Fresh Outbreak Records, Geenger Records, Grazil Records, Nasty Cut Records, Kvlt und Kaos Productions, Make-That-A-Take Records, Mevzu Records, No heroes records, Nothing to Harvest Records, Onism Productions, Pogorecords Records, Pasidaryk Pats Records, Quebranta Records, Cyprusgrind, Ripcord Records, Rip Roaring Shit Storm Records, Salto Mortale Music, See you next summer, Seitan's Hell Bike Punks, Silent Pendulum Records, Starved Light, Syrup Moose Records, Time as a color TNSrecords UpthePunx Virkelighedsfjern, Vita Detestabilis Records, Voice Of The Unheard records, 5FeetUnder Records, Liminal Dread Productions, Three Moons Records, WereGnome Records, Remparts Productions.

Track Listing

  1. Ingenting kan forhindre at små struber skælver en forårsnat
  2. Først da vi bar din kiste gik det op for mig, hvor meget tungt du skulle igennem, før du blev så let
  3. Her i vores hjerter bærer vi en ny verden
  4. Tag dit knuste hjerte og lav det til kunst

More in Geenger Records View All